So  a while back I was looking for characters sheets and quizzes to help with the characters I was writing. Some were the typical character sheets – the ones made for authors. But I came across one that was for personal insight.

Originally, I was going to tackle it the way I usually do. But a little ways into the first one I started having fun with it. I think I found out more about my characters through that.

I would totally suggest trying it. The questions I found were from here.

Here were my answers for the three characters I did (as they were at the start of the novel):

Mark

  1. What is your idea of perfect happiness?

A library

  1. What is your greatest fear?

That my mom’s statues are one day going to move

  1. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

The anti-social one

  1. What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Arrogance

  1. Which living person do you most admire?

My dad

  1. What is your greatest extravagance?

I have a signed copy of The Sorcerer’s Stone, does that count?

  1. What is your current state of mind?

It’s at Hogwarts

  1. What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Ambition

  1. On what occasion do you lie?

Only when it’s the only acceptable option

  1. What do you most dislike about your appearance?

Nothing much

  1. Which living person do you most despise?

I wouldn’t say I despise anyone, but my roommate Henry is getting very close to having that honor

  1. What is the quality you most like in others?

Humility

  1. Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

I probably say “Harry Potter”, “Shakespeare” and “books” in general too much

  1. What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Bacon

  1. When and where were you happiest?

When reading

  1. Which talent would you most like to have?

I’d love to be able to write

  1. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Make faster friends instead of taking months to make one

  1. What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Not getting a big head because I’m in college now

  1. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

A pillow or a penguin

  1. Where would you most like to live?

In a library

  1. What is your most treasured possession?

The above mentioned sign book

  1. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

Being illiterate

  1. What is your favorite occupation?

Teaching

  1. What is your most marked characteristic?

Passion

  1. What do you most value in your friends?

The ability to talk more than just small talk

  1. Who are your favorite writers?

All of them

  1. Who is your hero of fiction?

Harrison Bergeron

  1. Which historical figure do you most identify with?

Does Hades count?

  1. Who are your heroes in real life?

My father

  1. What are your favorite names?

I’ve always liked the really hippie ones – serenity, sky, etc…

  1. What is it that you most dislike?

Not having a book with me at all times

  1. What is your greatest regret?

Not going to college someplace warmer

  1. How would you like to die?

In a way that will end up with a headline reading “Virginia man (insert weird thing here)”

  1. What is your motto?

If I’m not reading, get me to a library ASAP

Katie

  1. What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Camping in the woods

  1. What is your greatest fear?

Being forced to live in a city like NYC

  1. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

I am a horrible public speaker

  1. What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Condescending-ness

  1. Which living person do you most admire?

I wish I could say Mary Feik, but she died recently. So I’ll go cliché and say my mom

  1. What is your greatest extravagance?

The heck does that even mean?

  1. What is your current state of mind?

I am permanently in a state of annoyance

  1. What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Quietness

  1. On what occasion do you lie?

To keep the things I’ve been trusted to keep secret secret

  1. What do you most dislike about your appearance?

I wish I could go bald without getting a lot of stares

  1. Which living person do you most despise?

There was this idiot in my class that kept treating me like an idiot

  1. What is the quality you most like in others?

Passion/Motivations

  1. What words or phrases do you most overuse?

I use filler words a lot

  1. What or who is the greatest love of your life?

The outdoors

  1. When and where were you happiest?

The outdoors

  1. Which talent would you most like to have?

Public speaking

  1. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I would be a better public speaker

  1. What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Spaatz Award (the highest award in Civil Air Patrol)

  1. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

A tree

  1. Where would you most like to live?

In an isolated hut in the middle of the forest about ten minutes from a town

  1. What is your most treasured possession?

My Spaatz certificate

  1. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

City life

  1. What is your favorite occupation?

I don’t really have one…

  1. What is your most marked characteristic?

Everyone says I’m loud, so I guess that’s it

  1. What do you most value in your friends?

Loyalty

  1. Who are your favorite writers?

I like the people who do Shmoop, which is an online study guide type thing that helped me survive high school

  1. Who is your hero of fiction?

Captain America

  1. Which historical figure do you most identify with?

Ummmm……

  1. Who are your heroes in real life?

Mary Feik, my mom, my dad, and my old squadron commander

  1. What are your favorite names?

The ones that are easy to pronounce

  1. What is it that you most dislike?

Cities

  1. What is your greatest regret?

Not always taking full advantages of things because I was scared of messing up

  1. How would you like to die?

Doing something honorable

  1. What is your motto?

Does “I can’t walk through you” count?

Alyssa

  1. What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Sitting at a potter’s wheel alone

  1. What is your greatest fear?

Being sick

  1. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

I never felt as ambitious as the rest of my family

  1. What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Elitism – especially in artists

  1. Which living person do you most admire?

My mom

  1. What is your greatest extravagance?

Makeup

  1. What is your current state of mind?

Always calm

  1. What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Book intelligence

  1. On what occasion do you lie?

White lies

  1. Which living person do you most despise?

I don’t despise anyone

  1. What is the quality you most like others?

Kindness

  1. Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

I talk so much I think overuse everything

  1. What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Art

  1. When and where were you happiest?

Potter’s wheel

  1. Which talent would you most like to have?

Singing

  1. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I would like to be fearless

  1. What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Getting out of the bed in the morning

  1. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

A bird

  1. Where would you most like to live?

I would love to permanently live in an art studio

  1. What is your most treasured possession?

My stuffed platypus Tye

  1. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

The inability to enjoy art

  1. What is your favorite occupation?

Potter

  1. What is your most marked characteristic?

Kindness

  1. What do you most value in your friends?

Kindness

  1. Who are your favorite writers?

Stephanie Meyer

  1. Who is your hero of fiction?

R0meo

  1. Which historical figure do you most identify with?

I… honestly don’t know

  1. Who are your heroes in real life?

My parents – especially my mom

  1. What are your favorite names?

William, Henry, and those other very king-like names

  1. What is it that you most dislike?

Elitist artists

  1. What is your greatest regret?

I’m eighteen, what regret would I have?

  1. How would you like to die?

The way Ellie did in Up – of old age, after a happy life, with my loved one(s)

  1. What is your motto?

I don’t know, what’s the motto with you?

