Today, people often associate cartoons as being aimed at children, possibly because of film companies like Disney, Pixar, and Dreamworks.

Now, I could go on about how it’s perfectly okay for adults to watch these movies, and that people shouldn’t judge the fact that two days ago I paid three dollars to watch Rise of the Guardians (which I already saw). But that is an argument for another post.

Instead, I’m going to talk about a cartoon movie that many thought was for kids, but it’s content would have gone over most kids’ heads: The Lego Batman Movie. 

At first, I was reluctant to see the movie. It looked funny, but not theater-price funny, but a friend talked me into going. And it was hilarious.

But a lot of the jokes referenced older Batman movies, or older pop culture in general. Most of the jokes seemed to be aimed at long-time Batman followers, and therefore would have just completely gone over children’s heads. Yet, almost everyone assumed it was a kid’s movie.

Why?

Image from the Official Lego Website

